



FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE March 17, 2025

2025 Council Nominating Committee Report

The Alberta Professional Planners Institute (APPI) Nominating Committee gratefully recognizes Matthew Boscariol and Nabil Malik, whose terms on Council will end on May 1, 2025. Continuing members of Council for the 2025-2026 term will be as follows:

Name	Position	Member Status	Location	Sector
Erik Backstrom	President	RPP	Edmonton	Public
Khalid Mohammed	Past President	RPP	High River	Public
Sue Holdsworth	Councillor	RPP	Edmonton	Public
Margaret Kralt	Councillor	RPP	Yellowknife	Private
Nicholas Kuhl	Councillor	RPP	Calgary	Private
Connor Smith	Councillor	RPP	Edmonton	Private
Marilyn Hooper	Councillor	Public Member	Sherwood Park	

The Nominating Committee is pleased to report that the following regulated members in good standing were either recruited by the Committee or nominated independently, and have agreed to let their names stand for the two Councillor positions to be filled for two-year terms.

Name	Position	Member Status	Location	Sector
Debra Hamilton	Councillor	RPP	Calgary	Public
Lilit Houlder	Councillor	RPP	Edmonton	Private
Nabil Malik	Councillor	RPP	Fort McMurray	Public

As there are 3 nominees for Councillor and the two Councillor positions to be filled, an election will be held. In accordance with APPI's Bylaws, we hereby appoint Jamal Ramjohn, RPP, as Returning Officer. The 2025 APPI Council election will be conducted via electronic ballot only. Electronic ballots will be issued on or before March 27, 2025. The platforms for all nominees for Councillor are now available on the APPI website at Council Election.

The results of the 2025 Council election will be announced at the Annual General Meeting to be hosted virtually on May 1, 2025 at 12:00 PM.

Respectfully submitted,

Shawn Bravender, RPP - Nominating Committee Chair Gary Buchanan, RPP Dnyanesh Deshpande, RPP Tammy Henry, RPP

APPI Mission Statement

We are the face of the planning profession within Alberta, Northwest Territories and Nunavut.

We serve the public interest by providing regulation, advocacy, promotion and services for our members.

Alberta Professional Planners Institute PO Box 3099 Sherwood Park, AB T8H 2T1 Canada Phone: 780.435.8716

email: admin@albertaplanners.com



Manage Communication Preferences